Posted by: the delish | March 5, 2012

Yum, yum, yum, yum, yum. That’s all.

Today was totally a day of looking forward to food all day. It is sad how much I think about and anticipate food. But it is also kind of cool because I can appreciate a good meal so much more when I am consciously WAITING for it and not just eating whenever food crosses my mind… which is a lot.

This is silly – but yesterday, I pored over the granola bars in the grocery store trying to pick just the right ones for my weekday breakfasts. I wanted something healthy, packed with protein, antioxidants, and also low calorie, low fat. Seems like a tall order – but I ended up getting 2 different Kashi bars. One was chocolate coconut something-or-other and the other was Dark Mocha Almond. This morning, I chose the latter – and was really looking forward to it. HOLY YUM. It tastes like Cocoa Krispies made into a Rice Krispie treat with almonds. SO good. And I am totally not a breakfast eater, mostly because I never make the time – I eat on my commute. Granola bars (or whatever you want to call them) are the perfect solution for me. G gets an organic fruit bar on our trip also. (And gets real breakfast at daycare.)

For lunch – work was footing the bill and I didn’t really care what we ate – I was just excited for a free lunch of something other than turkey, veggies and hummus. We settled on Jimmy John’s which is one of my favorites. I love their Turkey Tom – and according to My Fitness Pal – without cheese and mayo, and add avocado, it is 336 calories. Not bad, not bad. I did have a weak moment – I haven’t had chips in a very long time and their jalapeno chips are my fav. I should have eaten half the bag – but I ate it all. All 300 calories. As I was eating it, I was promising myself to work out tonight. And, guess what…. I actually did. So, not to say that I am going to do that all the time, but at least I am sticking to SOME kind of self-discipline. Is that rationalizing? Maybe – but at least I recognize it. Ha.

Dinner I was also looking forward to all day. I got it all made yesterday and it did not disappoint. As I mentioned in last night’s post, I found myself with a thawed rump roast and a change in plans. I didn’t really know what to do, so I totally winged it. It worked. It was packed with flavor and unlike any crockpot meal I’ve ever made. I will probably never be able to duplicate this because it was a case of “hmmm, I think this will work” and “hey, let’s add this.” But – if you can get similar ingredients – or heck, the same ingredients! – then I highly recommend. It was totally delish!

Our wine pairing was also perfect – we chose a 2008 Semi-dry Riesling from Leelanau Cellars. I don’t think we could have chosen a more complimentary flavor.

Ginger Spiced Crockpot Beef & Broccoli

  • 2lb Rump Roast (approx weight – or another cut of meat of your choice)
  • 4 cups water
  • 12 ounces Ginger Beer (I used Saranac)
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1 cup Ginger Wasabi Creamy Cooking Sauce (made by The Ginger People)
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 6 pcs Crystallized Candied Ginger
  • 1.5 cups Instant Brown Rice
  • 4 cups sliced mushrooms
  • 6 cups fresh broccoli, cut into bite sized pcs.

Coat a skillet with a little bit of olive oil. Heat it up and brown the rump roast on all sides. Chop the garlic and ginger and put in bottom of crock pot. Place the roast on top. Mix liquids and sauce and pour over top. Cook on high for 3 hours.

Remove roast from crock pot and chop into 1/2″ cubes. It should not be shredding – rump roast is tougher and should cube out nicely. Mine was shaped like a brick. If yours is thinner, may want to check it earlier so you catch it before it gets shreddy. Yes, I just said shreddy.

Put the meat back in the crockpot and add the rice and mushrooms. Mix well. Add broccoli on top – do not mix in. Broccoli will sit on top and steam. Replace the lid and cook for another 1+ hour until broccoli is tender. Mix well before serving.

Serves 8. Each serving has 414 calories, 19 grams fat and 33 carbs.

Responses

  1. Your dinner sounds Delish! If you are interested I think we are going up to TC with the Tyler and Emily group may 5.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

